Friday, September 28, 2012

Pink Explosions and Glitter blood: Christina Aguilera debuts the music video for her new single 'Your Body'

Christina Aguilera's new single Your Body charted at number 34 on the Billboard Hot 100 this week. The video has just been released and is directed by Melina Matsoukas who has previously  directed music videos for Kylie Minogue (Wow, In My Arms), Beyonce (Green Light, Diva), Lady Gaga (Just Dance) and Rihanna (We Found Love, S&M, You Da One). 

The video imagery in Your Body plays on various B-movies iconography as well as Christina's own various  trashy looks of the past. Every week of that period of her career she was criticised for that look which is now completely mainstream with Lady Gaga, Ke$ha and Rihanna making a career from an image that Christina started years ago. The song is a definite pop hit and with Pink enjoying huge worldwide success with her single Blow Me (One Last Kiss) it's a general return to that genre of female vocalist hit singles that dominated the end of the 1990's and the following decade. In short Christina and Pink are reclaiming their own pop status.

The pink explosion in the Your Body video is a great visual image but if you replaced the glitter and the coloured paint in the rest of the video as she meets the other male characters with what is really is; blood - then how do we view it? The whole video has to be seen as completely tongue in cheek but what if the protagonist in the video was male meeting women he picked up. I think the idea of the video is to turn this type of imagery on it's head. We watch and accept male protagonist violence far beyond the cinema screen nowadays as TV shows and film trailers on TV have a higher level of violence. The current TV advertisement for the new Brad Pitt film Killing Me Softly being a case in point. It will be interesting to see if there is a reaction to the Your Body music video in the same way that implied violence by men in popular culture is now often largely ignored. 

100 Cover Versions #95: Jaime Nanci covers 'Love is a Battlefield' by Pat Benatar

Just a few more songs left on my 100 Cover Versions list. It has been great to do and the part I enjoyed the most is discovering new voices in music that a few months ago I haven't been aware of at all. One of those singers is Jaime Nanci. I have previously featured his covers of Babooshka and Am I Blue.

Here is one more song sung by Jaime. It is his version of Love is a Battlefield by Pat Benatar. I  have loved the original version since I first heard it first in the mid 1980s and still do today. Love is a Battlefield was released in 1983 in the U.S. and got to number 5 on the Billboard Hot 100 but wasn't a hit until 1985 in the UK.
There is many blues or soul versions of pop classics but no one I know reinterprets them or is as respectful to the original as Jaime.

Jaime's version of Love is a Battlefield was recorded in Ballinacurra house in Kinsale here in ireland. It was produced, mixed and mastered by Pawel Grudzien who also plays piano on the recording. Bass is by Dave Redmond and drums by Abel Benito. 

I look forward to featuring other songs by Jaime and his band from now on on this blog too.

100 Cover Versions #94: This Club covers 'My Lovin' (Never Gonna Get It)' by En Vogue

In 1992 En Vogue released their album Funky Divas which featured the great hit singles Free Your Mind, Giving Him Something He Can Feel and My Lovin' (You're Never Gonna Get It). That year those songs really represented the sound of MTV tooEarlier on this list of cover versions i featured En Vogue's cover version of Yesterday which was also taken from Funky Divas.

Here is a cover of My Lovin' (You're Never Gonna Get It) by the four piece irish pop band This Club. It's a really fun version and I know that Irish pop music needs more music artists like This Club.

Here also is their very poppy single  I Won't Worry.

Two Songs from Roísín O's new album 'The Secret Life of Blue'

One of the best new female singers that I heard over the past year or two is Roísín O. I have seen her play as support artist in both Vicar Street and the Olympia music venues here in Dublin and each time she was super. Her own songs are lovely as are her choice of covers. She has released her new album which is called The Secret Life Of Blue and it was great to see her album featured prominently in Tower Records yesterday. If you live in Ireland her album is also on sale in HMV, Golden Discs and Celtic Note as well as on download through ITunes.

She has played several solo gigs in the past in venues in Dublin and in October and into November she goes on tour throughout Ireland promoting her new album.

The tour dates are:
  • Friday October 19th - Cyprus Avenue, Cork.
  • Sunday October 21st Dolan's Limerick
  • Thursday October 25th John Daly's Mullingar
  • Saturday November 3rd Monroe's Galway
Her website is and her Twitter page is @RoisinOMusic

Here are two songs from The Secret Life Of Blue album.

Here is How Long.

and the second song is Here We Go.